Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is argued that the government should invest in railways instead of roads. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this point of view because not only rail lines are more environmentally friendly but they also prevent traffic jams. Firstly, funding railways offers environmental benefits. Locomotives produce fewer emissions per ton-mile or passenger-mile compared to other means of transportation due to the fact that they prevent the use of hundreds of internal combustion engines by carrying hundreds of people. Moreover, many railways use electric power, which is sourced from renewable energy such as hydroelectric, solar or wind power. That’s the reason why investing in railways can contribute to the reduction in air pollution and greenhouse gas emissions. Secondly, the infrastructure of railways can help alleviate road congestion by providing alternative modes of transportation. A well-developed rail system that connects various destinations around a city can motivate a substantial portion of the population to move to trains or the metro because of their speed and punctuality, leading to the decrease of private on the road and ultimately reducing traffic congestion, especially in densely populated areas. For example, in Vietnam, the introduction of the Cat Linh metro in Hanoi in 2021 prompted a noticeable change in citizen behaviour, with a shift from using motorbikes to metros, resulting in reduced traffic jams. The government has plans to extend this metro system to other major cities, with completion expected by 2030. In conclusion, the government should invest more in the railway system than the road because developed railways positively impact the environment by reducing air pollution and preventing the greenhouse effect but also effectively address road congestion.