Some people think that excessive use of smart phones badly affects teenager’s literacy skills. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued by some that young people’s language skills is affected badly by the excessive use of smart phones. I completely agree with this statement, as this epidemic behaviour is commonly seen in today’s world. The main compelling reason is because they are always on their phone whenever they are awake. As researcher believes, this has affected their brain to crave for instant gratification. For instance, young adults like the fact that they will receive a huge amount of responses to their social media right after posting a certain video or images. This unrealistic expectation has also affected the way they responded on their friend’s posting swiftly with a lot of abbreviations which hurt their literacy skills poorly. Another reason related to instant gratification is the way we communicate through messenger application such as ‘Whatsapp’, ‘Line’, and ‘Facebook Messenger’. These applications have the functionality to send a message to another person in a form of stickers or animated images in order to give reaction in a shorter time. This example is causing the youth to use their language even less. Finally, with the help of today’s technology, some application on the mobile phone have the Artificial Intelligent (AI) ability to predict a template to reply to their friend’s. For example, “Carousell” have an AI function in their seller-buyer chat room which has an eighty percent accuracy in my experience. In conclusion, I totally agree that the usage of mobile electronic devices has impacted the literacy skill of our young mind. Given this situation, the government should look up for a way to sharpen their writing skills through a national wide campaign.