The continued rise in world's population is the greatest problem faced by humanity at the present time. What are the causes of this continued rise? Do you agree that it is the greatest problem faced by humanity

It is no doubt that the world’s population is significantly increasing day by day. It is said to be the greatest problem encountered by humans today. This is primarily because advances made in medical science and lack of awareness among people. I, however, do not agree that this issue is the greatest at present and there are far more dangerous issues which we should be worried about. Two major cause for the rise in number of people is the development of medical science and no knowledge about the consequences of over-population. Firstly, due to improvements in medicine, people now has a greater life expectancy than ever before. For example, many have died because of cancer in the past, but now it can be treated by the process which is called chemotherapy. In addition to this, mostly seen in under-developed and developing countries, people lack the knowledge about the dangerous effects of the enormous increase in population. As a result, a family now can consist up to 6 to 10 children. Nevertheless, in my opinion, this in not the most significant problem we are facing today because they are far concerned issues such as climate change and global hunger. Global warming, for instance, is making the earth warmer, and thus living in it inhabitable in the future. Furthermore, because of changes in climate, the weather in changing in expected ways like there can be no rain in the rainy season. Moreover, in many parts of the world, especially in poor countries, lack of food can lead to many serious health related issues, and even death. Take Africa, as an example, the average death per day because of the shortage of food is 10, which is extremely high. In conclusion, it is undeniable that the world’s population is continuously rising. But, there are far greater issues like climate change and global hunger in today’s world.