Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The past 50 years have seen a tremendous growth in the field of science and technology. However, there are predominantly two contrasting views where one section of the society believes that university students should have freedom of choice regarding their subjects, while the other section believes that they should opt for science and technology as it will be more rewarding in the future. On the one hand, allowing students to select subjects of their own choice in universities will make them more interested in gaining knowledge. As a result, they will excel in a better manner in their respective fields. Furthermore, there are many other positions, such as of a charted accountant, a hotel manager or a banker, that requires competitive people and it can only be possible if students opt for other subjects (Economics, Accountancy) during their college life. On the other hand, career opportunities are on a rise in the field of science and technology. For instance, Science department in the Harvard university has predicted that by 2030, the requirement of people in technological fields will double. Moreover, high salaries are common for people in scientific fields and there is more scope for a student. In my opinion, giving precedence to scientific and technological subjects is unfair as it forces a student to select a particular field irrespective of their interests. Universities should provide complete independence to opt for any subject that a student desires. In conclusion, while there are certain benefits to study scientific subjects in college, it is essential that students are free to select any subject they want to excel in without any forceful imposition.