Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or or disagree?

Budget allocation by the government in the public transportation is widely debated, with some people claiming that government should invest more money in railways, while others proclaim that roads should be given more importance. In my opinion, I completely agree that, railways should be given importance because they are faster and pollution free. To embark on, there are many reasons why the government should spend more money on railways. Firstly, railways is faster than road transportation, because trains go at a speed of 300 to 500 kilometres per hour easily, whereas for cars and buses it is nearly impossible due to the traffic on the roads. For instance, bullet trains in Japan can accelerate to 300 km/HR within a span of one minute. Secondly, trains can accommodate more people than the other means of transportation with varying options such as reservation, A.C and general coach. Furthermore, railways are cheaper than roads, which can be easily affordable by all sections of the society. Finally, trains generate a very less amount of pollution when compared to the road transportation. Nowadays, due to the modern inventions, most of the locomotives run with the help electricity instead of fossil fuels. For example, metro trains in India are fully automatic and they are electrically driven and emits zero carbon dioxide. Conversely vehicles which run on roads produce enormous amounts of carbon dioxide and chlorofluorocarbons which in turn leads to depletion of the ozone layer and causes global warming. To conclude, as railway transit is faster, secure and pollution free, so government should concentrate on developing railway transit by investing more money rather than road transportation.