Students perform better in school when they are rewarded rather than punished. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While some people believe that punishment is helpful in improving the performance of children in schools, others disagree and think that students perform well when they are rewarded for their work. In this essay, I will discuss both of these views and explain my support for the latter view. Those who think that punishment improves students' grades may argue that the fear of getting punished would force them to study. For example, a student might want to spend his time playing or hanging out with his peers rather than completing his homework, but if he knows that he would be punished if he did not complete the assignment, he is more likely to give priority to his homework than any other activities. As a result of this fear, youngsters would put more effort on their studies and consequently their results would improve. However, I would argue that this would have a little effect on their performance and that reward is the best way to achieve better results. The reason for this is that when students are rewarded, they feel happy and proud of their work. This sense of happiness and fulfilment motivates them to work hard without having their teachers or parents pushing them. For instance, a recent study published in the Daily Mail suggested that 90% of the top positions in the schools in the UK were acquired by self-motivated students. In conclusion, although with punishing students, teachers may force students to get the assignments done, this cannot guarantee that they will achieve higher scores in exams. In my opinion, rewards provide students with the sense of self-value, which makes them competent.