Some people say history is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think in today’s world, subjects like science and technology are more important than history. Discuss both views and give opinions.

Many believe that studying about events of the past is a vital lesson area. Whilst some believe modern creative subjects like, science and technology are more necessary to develop today's world. I agree with the latter view because these subjects are problem-solving and improve humanity. On the one hand, many think historical events are a key lesson that teaches students about their culture and societal values. All past events and efforts contribute to the community we have now. So, if schools focused more on history, the efforts, culture and beliefs of society would be more appreciated and passed from one generation to another. In addition, proper knowledge about past events helps us appreciate our present world. For example, if a student has good historical knowledge of his community he is able to keep his identity even in a strange state. On the other hand, some believe the growth and development of the world today depend greatly on science and technology. These fields of study are problem solving which also helps develop the world. So, therefore, schools focusing more on these areas enables students to create solutions that will improve their nation. As a result, life is more convenient and safe. Like, the invention of medical devices and medications which improved health and wellbeing. For instance, cholera was one of the leading causes of death in Nigeria in the early 2000s but with the help of science, vaccines and medications to prevent and treat this disease were discovered thus, reducing deaths drastically. In conclusion, although to some folks, the study of historical events should be prioritised. Other folks think it does not develop society so, schools should prioritize creative subjects instead.