Nowadays, there is a trend that media reports focus on problems and emergencies rather than positive development. Some people think it is harmful to individuals and to society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

News articles are one of the most useful sources for people to absorb information and gain knowledge. Yet in recent days, online and paper reports are flooded with controversial news about events in need of immediate solutions rather than other optimistic ones. Therefore, many people hold that this trend has a negative impact individually and consecutively. Accordingly, I strongly agree with their opinion for the following reasons. Firstly, it is undeniable that the media helps solve urgent problems quickly and effectively. This is because of its widespread influence on each person, which urges them to take action and prevent the negativity. For example, thanks to reports of the Amazon jungle’s fire in 2019, a fund of thousands of dollars was raised worldwide to stop the situation in just one week. Moreover, reporting crimes can help raise people’s awareness and avoid committing a similar act, which eventually makes society a better place. However, my belief is that this kind of news does more harm than good to us. For individuals who have been exposed to daily cruel, violent criminal cases might result in their misbehaviours. Honestly, we would prefer that our children can learn moral lessons from what they are reading rather than how to break from prison in details. Furthermore, a bias in emergent news leads to a misleading developing strategy. The society in such a case would only focus on dealing with short-term situations, neglecting a long-term plan for full improvement. To conclude, I believe that while it is beneficial to public heated problems, we should limit these pieces of information for their fruitless consequence on not only one but also many people of the community.