Many Museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admissions to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

It is increasingly common these days for tourists to visit museums whenever they travel to different countries. Although some of the museums charge some entry fees while others are free to visit. I think a nominal fee to be charged by these institutions would be justified/can be beneficial in many ways and outweigh the drawbacks. An evident benefit of having an entry price to the museums is that it will help in the economic growth of the country. In other words, many tourists in foreign countries often find museums an attractive place to explore and they would never hesitate to spend some minimal fees for it. This is because the museum curators preserve old artefacts and historian relics for tourists to understand the country’s culture. If there is no entrance fee, then it would be difficult for the museum authorities maintain all the antique items, ancient sculptures in its purest form. Moreover, the revenue collected from these museums can be utilized for the maintenance of these centres, renovation, repair costs, utility bills, staff costs, etc. However, there are some negatives to paying admission charges for museums. Firstly, the extortionate ticket prices could result in fewer tourists visiting the museum. This means if there are high ticket prices for museum galleries, then visitors would not prefer going to these centres. To illustrate this, the Times newspaper surveyed among tourists which stated that 33% of them would avoid seeing such type of excursion due to high-cost entry fees. As a result, this will decrease tourism and the culture of the country will be known by limited people. To conclude, although paying entry fees for museums would reduce the number of travellers at such place, however, it is important to consider that paying a nominal charge would aid the museum caretakers to maintain and cover the expenses it requires.