Nowadays, international tourism is the biggest industry in the world. Unfortunately, international tourism creates tension rather than understanding between people from different cultures. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Due to the recent development of the tourism industry, a large number of economies rely on the holiday makers. However, it is argued that this trend has encouraged the uncertainty between the people from different nations. This essay will illustrate the fact that completely disagree with this argument. To begin with, the purpose of visiting other nations is not only to see, the natural landscape of those countries, but also to learn about the culture and the lifestyle of the inhabitant. The context of tourism has been changed over the years. In the past people travelled other countries sorely to see the nature. Nonetheless, now they are more interested in the way other people live such as their traditions, history and the type of foods they eat. Hence, the holiday makers do interact with locals more often these days. As a result, it helps people to understand the background of each other. Moreover, communities around the world have identified the significance of the tourism industry for their economy. Educational standard of every nation has increased over the years. Therefore, people start to understand the importance of holiday makers for the development of their nation. Rather than criticizing it, now people try to live along with it by welcoming those who come from other countries. For instance, in Sri Lanka it is forbidden to enter a temple with inappropriate clothes. Hence, at the entrance of these religious places tourists are offered with free clothes to cover themselves.  In conclusion, locals and tourists nowadays trying to understand each other than the past. This is because tourists come to see the culture of other parts of the world and local people has identified the significance of this for their economy. Therefore, I disagree with the argument that states the tourism creates the cultural tension.