All over the world, societies are facing a growing problem with obesity. This problem affects both children and adult. What are the reasons for this rise in obesity, How could it be tackled?

Nations worldwide are dealing with the rising issue of obesity, which has become a concern for the people in all age groups. The main reason for this is the over-consumption of junk food, and a possible solution would be a government to tax such food items and lower the cost of fresh products. To begin with, the main reason for people becoming overweight is the intake more fast- food due its convenience. This is because, people tend to live busy and hectic lives, thus, cooking at home is considered as burdensome after long working days. For instance, as per a medical research that was conducted in the UK, sales of such products have risen sharply over the past few decades, since people prefer relaxing over cooking meals, when they go home after work. If this is not resolved by suitable measures, uncommunicable diseases such as diabetes will be on the rise. To tackle this issue, governments need to impose taxes on foods that contain high fat and sugar. As a consequence, the prices of such items would be increased, and people would think twice before purchasing them. At the same time, the cost of fresh and healthy foods also needs to be lowered in order to encourage people to buy them. To illustrate this, in 2014, Norway imposed high taxes on food items, which contained high levels of saturated fat. They also fixed low prices for organic fruits and vegetables in the market, and this had a dramatic effect on reducing the consumption of junk foods. To conclude, being overweight has become an alarming issue among children and adults globally due to the over reliance on fast food items. Authorities need to take measures to limit this tendency by increasing taxes, as it discourages people from buying them..