With the availability of information on the internet, public libraries are no longer necessary. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The internet has surely changed the way in which humans interact and this have surely affected the way humans approach information. Some people, are of the opinion that public libraries are no longer relevant in today's world of the internet boom.Despite this, public libraries are still found across all countries, even the developed once and particularly higher in emerging economies where internet penetration is still low. Also, some people prefer the ambience provided in these quiet spaces which enable them to pursue their research and other related studies. Hence, I don't agree with this opinion. In many emerging countries, the access to the internet is very minimal and hence a total closure of public libraries would not be a feasible stance in these places. For example, in India only 40% of the population have access to cheap data without hindrances and because of this fact, many college students prefer to use traditional means foe their research. However, in developed countries like Canada, public libraries have innovated to include the internet in their day to day operations.