"Old people are an essential part of society, so they should be respected.” How much do you agree with this opinion and why? Give reasons and examples to support your answer

There is a strong belief that old people and our attitude towards them define the ethical basis of our society. They play a vital role in building our social structure and deserve huge respect from all spheres of our society. This essay strongly agrees with the aforementioned argument and illustrates the importance of these individuals by stating the facts backed by logical reasoning. Firstly, these people give lifetime service to ensure a progressing and prosperous future for the generations. Secondly, they hold a lot of experience that can benefit younger individuals from all aspects of life. Finally, they are the torch bearer of improvements and can indicate any flaw prevailing. For instance, knowledge passed on to modern generations is due to the fact that our forefathers worked hard and developed the basic ideas. Those ideas were then capitalized to give birth to a promising life today. Furthermore, old people hold an abundance of experience that can be utilized to improve the standard of life and increase social coherence. For example, most key positions in any organization are filled by people having grey hair. This is because they can provide solutions in chaotic situations and enigmatic problems. All these elements make them worthy of their due respect and should be highly regarded as a return for their exceptional services. In conclusion, old people are the backbone of any society and they make a positive impact by sharing their knowledge and learning with younger people. As a result, they should be valued and revered. Without their presence in our lives, there will be a huge deficiency of guidelines.