Now a days, people throw away old things and adopt new things. do the disadvantages of throwaway society outweigh any possible economic advantages?

Throwaway culture has become very common with the certain demographics of society. This is especially easily observable with middle and higher income segment in the developed countries. Discarding old things has certain disadvantages, such as increasing land and sea pollution and burden on limited earthly resources, outweigh any possible economic advantages. When people opt to acquire new things and dispose old ones, it worsens the problem all around us. People are choosing to toss old things, before the end of their life, at an increasing rate because, first, they can afford to and, second, fashion changes 52 times a year. It has estimated that 28% of land in developing nations is going to be used as a landfill, according to a report by the United Nations. Even more, these pollutants, such as plastic, haven't been limited to, land only, and it has spread to our oceans. The amount of plastics found in our seafood is alarming. Therefore, changing people's mindset to increase the life span of items is necessary. In addition, manufacturing new items come at a huge cost to earth's very limited resources. To meet the demand for new things, raw materials need to be mined at an even increasing speed. Mining not only depletes the limited reserve of raw metals, but also releases toxic materials into the rivers during the extraction and purification process, rendering them polluted beyond imagination. For example, we will run out of lithium, that is the backbone of all modern hardware technologies, in the near future, leaving nothing behind for future generation. This show, it is crucial for us to take concrete steps. In my opinion, throwing away things will not only adds to ever increasing pollution, but also unnecessarily reduce the valuable resources that future generations will have to rely on for their advancement. In conclusion, any economic benefits that we may gain will be washed away by huge environmental deficit.