Some people think that parents should teach their children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the best place to learn this. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Whether it is the role of parents or teachers to shape students into good citizens of a country has sparked a considerable debate. This essay will discuss both views, and I personally think that parents have a more significant responsibility because they are the immediate caregivers and spend a lot of time daily with them. It is commonly understood that teachers are people whose main task is to educate pupils when they are in school. They are professionally trained to teach and have many effective techniques to impart necessary skills and knowledge to students in order for them to become good citizens. For example, to become a secondary school teacher in Cambodia, one must go through a 4-years training to gain pedagogical skills and content knowledge to teach students. However, I believe that parents have a more important role in teaching children to distinguish between right and wrongdoings. Parents, considered the first teachers of children, have been encouraged to spend more time educating their own children on how to behave properly in society because they are the primary caregivers and have plenty of time to interact with them. Provided that they spend adequate time teaching the children, it is believed that they will be able to strive and become quality human resources for the country. For instance, many working mothers in Cambodia decide to take long leave from their jobs and spend as much time as possible with their young child in order to ensure they have a memorable childhood. I believe this is one of the correct ways to rear children as parents are the most significant persons who can remarkably influence the way children behave. In conclusion, although teachers are obligated to teach students how to behave positively in society, I think parents should be the key individuals to mould children into well-rounded citizens because they are the guardians of the children and they have more time to spend with them, compared to teachers.