Many students choose to complete at least some of their university studies in a foreign country. What are some of the advantages and disadvantages of studying abroad?

Nowadays, many school leavers are opting to study abroad for some period of time. This phenomenon has both positive and negative effects on students. I strongly believe that studying in a foreign country can be a valuable experience. It can make a person responsible. It can expose him to a new culture and language; however, a person may become lonely and homesick. One main advantage of studying abroad is that students gain a sense of responsibility. They get the opportunity to manage their own financial expenditures without having to rely on their parents. For instance, they have to handle payments of rent and utility bills. In addition, they get to travel back and forth from university to home on their own. Finally, they get to learn how to prepare meals, and how to clean. So, once they return home, they are fully self reliant and responsible. Exposure to a new culture is another advantage of studying in a far place from home. Students become familiar with the country's traditions and festivals. They learn native dialects while mingling with locals, and that may come handy when looking for jobs later on. Moreover, Students have ample chance to establish new friendships that can last a lifetime. Therefore, exposure to a new tradition shapes the personality of individuals. Despite these positive effects, studying abroad has some drawbacks. One drawback is loneliness and homesickness. When students travel away from their beloved ones, they get to miss their parents and siblings particularly during especial family events. Also, they get to miss being with their childhood friends and neighbours.What's more, they get to miss local cuisines and beverages. While there are some disadvantages to studying at a foreign university, the advantages are greater. I think everyone should do it.