In some countries, a foreign language is taught at primary schools. Do the advantages of learning a new language outweigh the disadvantages?

In society, a number of countries have provided studies in a foreign language in primary schools. It is argued that acquiring a second language is beneficial at an early age, while some believe that it may have some drawbacks. In my opinion, I think that learning another language can benefit the students in the future. On the one hand, it is beneficial for a child to learn a new dialect at a young age because their ability to gain additional knowledge at this milestone will be at its peak. Children will be able to pick up a different language faster. Furthermore, acquiring this new skill can enable them to communicate with people from other countries and learn their culture. Therefore, it can benefit in their future career to have an adequate communication skill. Asians would be an excellent example of this, where primary schools have incorporated English classes to the community, and allowing them to not only work and study overseas but they can communicate fluently with foreigners. On the other hand, learning a new language at a young age, however, can lead to an alteration of their mother tongue. In other words, it can cause children to become confused with the different languages. This is clearly evident that in a majority of American born Chinese, where they studied English at school, whilst learning Chinese at home. Most of these people lose their mother tongue, where some people can only listen but cannot speak. Also, grammar and pronunciation would be inaccurate because it is different in every culture. In conclusion, in spite of the drawbacks resulting in a confusion in both languages, I believe it is more advantageous to have foreign language education in primary, where it can play a pivotal role in building a well-developed communication skill for the future.