Living in a country, where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

It is observed that people have to face many critical issues both social and practical, when they migrate to overseas and are required to deal with a nonnative language. In my opinion, this notion can be accepted entirely as this creates a fragmented society and less productivity at work places. To begin with, living in a country, where people have to speak a foreign language can cause a serious social concern of isolation. In other words, the immigrants’ inability to handle the new dialect properly acts as a barrier in the communication with native speakers, which hinder the understanding of each other. This creates a disjointed society as strong communication is key in building relationships. For instance, as per a study conducted by the University of Melbourne in 2017, a vast majority of immigrants had experienced loneliness and isolation during the first five years of their life in the new land because of language issues. Similarly, this phenomenon has become a root cause for some practical issues as well. When people cannot communicate properly in the new language, their ability to share their experience and ideas at work tend to deteriorate. This brings down their productivity, which is largely detrimental to the progress of the company and the whole nation as well. To illustrate, according to a business research conducted in the UK in 2017, a large amount of money had been invested by UK firms to improve English skills of migrant staff, serious practical issues had been experienced by those companies in harnessing the knowledge expertise of such employees due to language barriers. To conclude, it is apparent that living in overseas, where people have to use a different language brings many social and practical challenges such as lack of community bonds and loss of productivity in work, which have negative effects for nations in the long run.