Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than a secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Language plays a vital role in serving as a medium of communication among the individuals. While some experts opine that introducing a foreign language is better at a primary school instead of a secondary school, I stand firmly against this notion. I consider there are minuscule advantages like, it creates enthusiasm among the young learners compared to the gigantic disadvantages, which will be discussed in detail. One of the Lilliputian advantages that I consider in introducing a new dialect at primary schools is that it sounds fascinating to the pupils. To elaborate this further, a new foreign language creates an enthusiastic feeling in the candidates at first, who are all excited at the idea of learning a new medium of communication. For example, the report cards of many primary Indian students showed that they all scored a skyrocketing number in French compared to the secondary students due to their zeal to succeed as quick learners of the new language. On the other side, there are enormous disadvantages with this approach, the primary one being that the students are overburdened with the introduction of the new workload. Furthermore, primary school candidates who aspire for the high scores, cannot cope up with the stress of learning a new language and keep with the other subjects, due to their inexperience with the time management. However, the secondary students are better at beating the stress out. Hence, it is evident that assigning the new language in the primary school curriculum can overly burden the younger learners. Another colossal disadvantage to consider is that the primary students are immature in tackling the new language. Moreover, the foreign language, which requires rigorous practice with its grammar and pronunciation could inculcate the fear in young students who are clueless in handling it. For instance, when German was introduced as a new language in many challenger schools in the U.S, candidates tend to perform poorly due to their immaturity. To conclude, even though the idea of introducing a non-native language at primary schools sounds exciting, it carries a plethora of disadvantages like immaturity in handling it and stressful curriculum.