Some people think that the government should provide assistance to all kinds of artists including painters, musicians and poets. However, other people think that this is a waste of money. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is very often debated whether the government should extend a helping hand to the artists or not. Some individuals are of the opinion that government bodies should provide support to artists, while others consider it to be a waste of money. This essay will analyse both sides before a conclusion is reached. On the one hand, providing financial assistance to artists can benefit the country as art is a form of expression and it's commonly used to showcase traditional beliefs and cultural values of a particular country that, enhances global exposure leading to an increase in tourism. The rise in tourism increases the inflow of foreign currency, which eventually improves the economy of the country. For instance, the Taj Mahal in India, Agra is one of the seven wonders of the world and although, it was built in 1,648 but, even today it's a monument that is desired to be visited by many. It's the first piece of art which is spoken about when a person thinks about India. This example clearly illustrates that providing financial aid to artists can bring strong benefits to the country. On the other hand, there are some people who consider investing money on artists to be wasteful. People in this group are of the opinion that, the finances can be used in a prudent manner, especially in third world countries, by providing basic necessities such as safe drinking water, proper food to eliminate malnutrition, education to increase literacy levels that leads to reduced crime rates and good infrastructure to improve the safety of citizens. Take for instance, a recent research showed that Africa is among the top countries that suffers malnutrition, even today. Thus, based on this example, the government needs to prioritize its funds efficiently to eraditcate kill in large numbers eradicate this issue as it's the hour of the need. On analysing both the sides, I am of the opinion that the government should definitely support artists, as in the long run, the country will reap benefits from the subsidies provided to them.