Some people think that paying tax is their only duty, while others believe that we have more responsibility towards our society. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

In this day and age, many people think that their primary duty is to pay tax only, while there are others who feel that we have more responsibilities to our community. In my opinion, I believe that paying tax is one of our many responsibilities and there are other ways in which we can serve the public. On on hand, people believe that once they have paid taxes, their part in the process is complete. In other words, the dedicated legal platforms can take care of the tax-money collected and invest it in social and economic causes. Additionally, they believe that since they have already contributed from their hard earned money, there is no need to invest more time and resources into the causes as it is already being taken care by a formal organization. Hence, due to these reasons, some individuals feel that paying taxes is enough and there is no further contribution required from them. Other the other hand, there are some who feel that giving back to the society should not be restricted to paying a certain amount at the end of every year. Despite the fact that thousands of tax amount is collected annually, there are families who are still in need. One obvious example is the growing percentage of persons getting involved in social responsibility activities. For instance, on an average 55% people spend at least 2 hours per week in volunteering activities such as, cleaning the beaches, providing educational services, serving disaster victims, distributing left over's etc. To conclude, paying our due share to the government is a key feature, but there are aspects of serving the community which cannot be neglected. Therefore, it becomes imperative to not only pay taxes, but also serve the community in one way or the other. By doing this we become a better human being by helping others, and we get a chance to improve someone's life, ultimately serving the society.