Labour-saving devices such as dishwashers and communication tools such as computers are supposed to make our lives easier. However, some people argue that these devices only make them more difficult. Does modern technology reduce or increase stress?

Automation and digitalisation are the latest wonders of the world, making life simpler and stress free. However, there are some who believe that such advancements have resulted in loss of jobs and are more complex to use. This essay will discuss how modern technology is a boon to mankind and helps in saving time and money. To begin with, labour intensive jobs like loading and unloading of goods from ships and planes is time consuming and it requires many people to do it. But, with the help of automation and robotics in this industry, it is now easier and saves time and money both for the employer. For instance, Ships at the docks are unloaded in a few hours with the help of the weight lifters and robots, unlike earlier times when it used to take days to unload it. Modern technology and invention are inevitable and the need of the hour to optimize the cost and save time. However, some might argue that a lot of time is wasted on the latest communication platforms like Whatsapp, Facebook, and the internet as a whole. Such wasted time could be utilized in a productive manner, but thanks to such gadgets we are glued to the couch, and don’t have time to have qualitative interactions and face to face meetings with our loved ones. A lot of labour saving devices are more complex to use and they don’t serve the purpose at times. For instance, the dishwashers are not meant to clean a lot of utensils which are hollow and deep which needs to be cleaned with hands again after washing it in the dishwasher, which increases the time and effort for the consumers. Hence a lot of people think it’s better to be old fashioned. To conclude, this essay agrees that the modern technology provides a variety of ways to serve humanity and one can only be responsible of misusing the technology on its own accord. In my opinion, the benefits of latest communication tools and sophisticated machines reduce stress and time.