Explain some of the ways in which humans are damaging the environment. What can governments do to address the problems? What can individual people do?

The fact that environmental deterioration is caused due to human activities is a matter of great concern. This essay will first briefly describe that out of many activities, which contribute to environmental damage one of the main causes is the use of private vehicles by individuals, then suggest that it should be dealt with by conducting awareness campaigns, and promote usage of public transport among people. The quality of air in many cities is degrading at an exponential rate, which is a result of various factors. One major factor behind this is the increasing usage of self-owned vehicles among individuals, mainly due to the comfort it offers; however, it is worth considering that the emission through these vehicles is making the air more polluted every passing day. This is evident in large cities, for instance, Mumbai, in recent years, has seen an increase in the number of private vehicles and its impact is also visible in ever declining air quality index. Nevertheless, there are some workable solutions to the aforementioned problems. One such solution at the state level could be to run the awareness campaign informing people about the air quality trends for the last few years and explain how uses of public transport can contribute to maintaining good air quality. At the same time at the individual level, one should practice using shared transport and incorporate usage of biodegradable bags for routine shopping. For example, I personally carry cotton made carry bag all the time while going to shop outside, thus avoiding asking plastic bags from the vendor and reducing its uses. In conclusion, the growing popularity of private vehicles and the usage of plastic bags appear to be the most obvious reasons for this problem. However, it can be resolved through taking efforts at government and individual levels as mentioned.