Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student’s performance. Continual assessment such as course work and projects is not a satisfactory way to do this. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

Evaluation method of students' performance has always been an area of contention around the globe. Some set of people considers that formal examinations are the best way to judge the performance of the student. Some folks believe that continual assessment such as course work and projects are the right way of evaluating the performance. In my opinion, I believe that both the ways are reliable in assessing student ’s performance. On one hand, the continual assessment such as course work and projects are considered to be better ways to assess the student ’s performance. The people are of the opinion that analysing the student ’s at regular interval reduces stress load on the student that arises with a formal examination. The teachers can also observe and assist students who are weaker, thus by providing them the opportunity to improve. In addition to this, this system is also helpful in assessing the student skills like communication, analytical skills and many other abilities like working in a group that are hard to assess in the formal examination system. On the other hand, there are two key benefits of formal examinations. Firstly, they are the fair system as every student has an equal opportunity since they all sit in the same exam at the same time, meaning those students' who work hard are rewarded with high grades. Secondly, it is also difficult to cheat or take the external help, as this exam is conducted under the presence of the invigilator unlike continual assessment. Hence, formal exams reflects the students' true ability. In conclusion, although both formal examination and continual assessment are effective ways of evaluation, they also have some weaknesses. I assert that, both the evaluation procedures should be used to assess the abilities of students' during their education.