Nowadays many people have access to computers on a wide basis and a large number of children play computer games. What are the negative impacts of playing computer games and what can be done to minimize the bad effects?

There is no exception that computers these days are the most widely used device by many either for work or fun-based activities and it is quite apparent that many children use it for playing games. This essay will discuss some of the problems caused due to excessive usage of computers on children and propose some solutions which might help to minimize them. To embark on, The first and foremost cause of concern is that it troubles the eyes. This is because the computer screen emits the harmful radiations which directly affects the eyesight and leads to the problem of unclear vision. For instance, a child who plays computer games for an overlong period might have to wear spectacles at a very young age. To alleviate this problem, parents must be required to install the screen protector glasses on a computer screen and control their children to overuse the computers. This should result in protecting the eyes of offspring and will not deteriorate their health. Another point of concern is that it affects their academic studies. In other words, children get addicted to games so much that they are unable to concentrate on other important subjects such as mathematics, science, because of this they secure lower scores in their exams. To illustrate this, the UK university board surveyed students and found that 60% of them are unable to secure good marks in their academic subjects. Dealing with this issue requires parents to put a control on using computers for their child’s daily activities. They should be given a fixed amount of time to spend on leisure activities, studies, and outdoor fun games which is equally important. In conclusion, two of the main problems which are caused by using a computer by children is that it affects their eyesight and academic grades. However, parents should use the screen protective glasses for the computer screen and control their children to spend less time on computers and more on studies.