Some people believe the government should spend money on building trains and subway lines to reduce traffic congestion. Others think that building more and wider roads is the better way to reduce traffic congestion. Discuss both views and give your opinion

The methods of mitigating traffic congestion have been a heated topic of controversy.Some people argue that the construction of larger roads is the answer for the problem. However, I contend that such a solution is ineffective in the long term, while the opinion to construct railways and subways is a far better measure. There is a common fallacy that governmental spending on building larger roads could address the problem of traffic congestion. An increase in road size could reduce the traffic intensity in the short term, but larger roads also mean that the citizens are barely encouraged to purchase more individuals' vehicles. This leads to the fact that the larger roads would soon be filled with intense traffic again. For instance, traffic jams still exist in several cities, even after they expanded the roads last year. In brief, if this was the accurate solution, traffic jams would not still persist in the long run. Rail and subways, however, could ensure that traffic congestion is properly addressed.Unlike cars and buses, trains are capable of transporting thousands of people simultaneously at a time and thus would meet the transport demand of a vast number of passengers. Moreover, trains do not have to go through the intersections and traffic lights and dedicated lines ensure their travel is being hardly interrupted. In other words, trains are always on time, regardless of the level of traffic. This level of punctuality would encourage many to choose railways and subways as their primary means of transport, and the number of individual vehicles decreases accordingly. As a result, traffic congestion could be tackled successfully. As to conclude, the above facts evidently elaborate that, building more and larger roads is an unsustainable measure, while train and subways would be a much more effective solution for the problem of traffic congestion.