Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is increasingly common for some people to feel that children should start learning a foreign language at primary school, instead of secondary level. While this could have many benefits and drawbacks. I strongly believe that the advantages are far more than the demerits. Looking firstly at the positives, a significant advantage is that the child age in the primary stage is more receptive to the information and learns faster as they are less self-conscious and shy. It’s also proved that lessons learnt in this age is remembered for the life. For instance, it’s evident that children enjoy practicing speech through games and learning and copying colleagues in primary institution could be a fun and effective learning. Moreover, unlike at secondary level, children learning a foreign dialect in primary stage will be more active and competitive. Further, language proficiency nowadays, are as critical as other subjects like mathematics or science. This means that, learning a foreign tongue at primary level could be pivotal for students to get best international job opportunities. As an example, with entire world becoming a global village, students with excellent foreign native tongue proficiency are now increasingly getting foreign job opportunities. However, children learning foreign dialect at primary academy also present some disadvantages, the most obvious of which is the nascent age of the students in the primary stage and already prevalent pressure on them to learn other important subjects like mathematics. To make matters worse, it has been shown that students in primary school who are under pressure to learn foreign tongue are at greater risk of becoming depressed. In conclusion, I believe that the merits of quickly adapting a new native tongue and development of a child into a competitive individual by learning a foreign speech at primary institution, outweighs the infrequent drawbacks of school pressure and depression.