The number of students who choose to study mathematics at university is low. Why do you think this is? What can be done about this situation?

Nowadays, it seems that students ' interest in taking mathematics as their major at university has remained low. One possible explanation for this situation is that they have been thinking that mathematics is a difficult subject to study since primary school. The best solution for this situation is for teachers to build students ' interest in mathematics since primary school by making classes more attractive. Students ' mindsets about mathematics have remained negative. They consider math a big scary thing because instead of making mathematics a fun subject, most teachers have made this subject a serious and boring subject since primary school. It might be because this subject requires the full attention of students and high concentration in order to be understood. For example, students love studying the arts because they can discuss and work in teams with their friends. As a result, they found out that the arts are a fun subject. This situation can be achieved if teachers can change students ' mindsets about mathematics from a young age. Teachers can start by making the class attractive. For example, teachers can do classes outdoors so that students can feel a little bit more relaxed when studying math, or teachers can make study groups and build interesting discussions among students. In conclusion, perhaps students have a low interest in mathematics because they believe that it has been a scary subject since they were young. The best solution is that teachers should play a role in changing students ' minds in primary school and making this subject attractive.