Many countries aim to improve living standard by economic development, but some important social values are lost as a result. Do the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, quite a few countries target to ensure higher level of living standards for their citizens by enhancing the status of economy; however, it might end up vanishing certain vital social merits. Despite some clear benefits can be seen from the phenomenon, I firmly hold the opinion that they are eclipsed by considerable drawbacks. From one standpoint, there are a couple of positive aspects of economic growth in the long run. First and foremost, this inclination may turn out to foster the general prosperity of nation’s financial circumstance at the same time as it seems to render better lives in bliss and serenity. To cite an example, that the number of households living under inadequate life standards is slumping substantially over the last decades in the undeveloped countries of Africa is apparently evident. Despite a noteworthy upside which has been mentioned above, I still believe that adverse ramifications of the propensity are more obtrusive. Initially, economic development condoning social values is more likely to breed altercations in public. This is because the citizens who highly appreciate merits at a societal level are certain to oppose to these decisive actions; therefore, policy makers are supposed to implement unprejudiced legislations so that they can establish a balance between these issues. Moreover, social values being reminiscent of nation’s cultural background, loss of them can unquestionably lead to undesirable outcomes in terms of culture. More specifically, the younger generation will not be aware of their valuable traditions and pass them down for the upcoming ones. In summary, I reiterate my contention, saying that, in regard to economy-related improvement, unfavourable implications of it are of more significance when compared to plus sides.