We live in a world of technology these days, While the internet brings with it clear advantages, the problems in terms of control and security of information outweighs the advantages. To what extent do you agree?

It is a fact that, the internet has effected our life's one way or another; sometimes positive and on some occasions negatively. The Internet had made our life much easier by giving access to information with a click of a button. Some people believe, although there are many advantages to using the internet; it comes with many associated problems like identity theft, information theft etc. I believe the benefits a person derives from using the internet outweighs its disadvantages and in this essay I will put forth my views with suitable examples. Firstly, developing the internet or the World Wide Web was one of the greatest achievements of mankind from the last century. With the help of the Internet many companies which started off in garages became multi-billion dollar companies. But as the reach of the internet became wider, it was very clear that there were many problems associated with web usage. But many of the security issues related to internet usage can be prevented by taking some simple precautionary measures. For instance, it is better to browse the internet or use banking portals using a VPN (Virtual Private Network), by doing so you will be able to hide your identity from potential hackers who are trying to get your personal information such as credit card details. Secondly, with the help of internet students are getting access to information on a wide variety of topics through e-learning portals like Coursera and Udemay. This has helped many students across the world who do not get the opportunity to go to college to learn these subjects. For example, it's been estimated that by 2025 there will be almost 10 million students across the world using e-learning portals for their educational needs. To conclude, although there are some disadvantages to using the internet, I believe the benefits you derive out of using the internet outweighs the negatives