As countries develop, many people are able to purchase a car. Do you think that the advantages for the individual outweigh the disadvantages for the environment?

Since the industrial revolution, the number of car usage has been skyrocketing, in particular, developed nations. Under the circumstances, while people ’s lifestyles are benefitted by usage of cars, there has been growing concern about the environment. This essay will argue that people need to prioritise environmental issues more than the benefits of car usage, as it will cause an irrecoverable situation on our planet. Owning a car can provide individuals with a great deal of freedom. Without a car, people would spend a significant amount of time commuting to work, going grocery shopping, and taking a trip. This is because there would be mainly two options that they can select (either walking or utilising public transport), which often takes far longer time than driving. Even if you were to reside in close proximity to a bus stop or station, you would still need to adjust to the timetables. Additionally, you would experience a sudden halt of transport, resulting in turning to a taxi to travel to a destination. However, having a car could address all possible troubles because you can leave home whenever you are ready, which means you will receive a considerable level of convenience. Nevertheless, excessive usage of cars is opposed to sustainable practice. To begin, cars consume one of the crucial finite resources, fossil fuels. Not only will fossil fuels be a risk of running out in the near future, but they will also accelerate carbon emissions, which will negatively contributing to global warming. Furthermore, global warming will pose a dire threat to the loss of a wide range of diversity, leading people to have difficulty accessing sufficient food and resources that are available now. Although these problems appear to be negligible as it stands, they will manifest on the global scale incrementally. Once they develop, it would be irrecoverable to back to the original state. In conclusion, while I must acknowledge that cars can supply people with comfort and convenience drastically, I still contend that we need to consider the negative influences on the environment, as it will cause unpleasant consequences including a lack of resources, climate change, and diverse species.