Some parents buy their children a large number of toys to play with. What are the advantages and disadvantages for the child of having a large number of toys?

Buying plenty of toys are being carried out by some group of parents. This essay will discuss both the benefits and the drawbacks of this trend upon the children themselves. Having a large number of toys can be advantageous for the children. As we may be aware, these playthings can be used to foster a child’s cognitive thinking. The colours and shapes of the toys are varied, and therefore, it stimulates the child’s brain to better recognize the objects. A puzzle game, for example, enforce a child to be able to recognize the pattern of the puzzle in order to put on the pieces correctly. Furthermore, many parents believe that by providing their children with various toys, their children’s boredom can be avoided. The main reason for this is that when there are many items available for them to play, they can easily switch from one object to the other object while playing so that it reduces the possibilities for the children from being bored. For instance, this method has been proven effective by the majority of parents in China. Exposing the children to numerous toys is not without its disadvantages, however. Firstly, these playthings are usually made from certain materials that can be harmful for the children. Often, certain substances, which is quite poisonous, are being added by the toy-makers in order to improve its appearance. Take playdough as an example, it can cause a harm when it is accidentally swallowed by the children. In addition, by having a plenty of playful things at home seems to cause some children to lose their concentration in the study. This is because their attention is mainly to their toys instead of school subjects. This situation can be seen in Malaysia, where most of the primary school students failed their course as they spent more time playing than studying. In conclusion, there are various strengths and shortcomings of allowing the children to have a large number of toys. While the positive aspects can be obtained, such as stimulating a child’s brain and avoiding them from a boredom, the negative aspects, such as decreasing a child’s concentration in the study and it can be harmful to a child’s body, should not be overlooked.