In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Over the last few years, people tend to do their daily shopping in larger markets or malls. Despite the fact that this trend may have caused the closing if small local shops, I believe it outwardly has got a massive benefit to the consumers. In this essay, I will touch upon the positive impacts of this advancement. Undoubtedly, many people feel that shopping in larger centres is much more convenient. The most essential positive effect is that the consumers can do the whole month shopping at once, definitely. For example, the whole family can go to Costco once in a while and they all will be able to get whatever they need in one trip. In these large shopping complexes not only costumers are able to find different vendors under a single roof, but they also will save their precious time by not killing time to go from one store to another. Furthermore, this kind of shopping malls has got entertainment sections such as cinema complex, playgrounds and a food court. Obviously, people can get the chance of both shopping and enjoying their time. As well as that, supermarkets are including better facilities like car parking, toilets or resting areas. This trend also has some disadvantages for local shops. Along with this, they also are always capable of relocating to large malls or to an area where there is enough client. In conclusion, shopping centres have given local businesses a tough period, but they do give their clients the perfect opportunity to relish their shopping. Subsequently, as far as I am concerned, the immense merit of big malls outweighs the options of small markets.