More and more parents are allowing their children to play on computers and tablets as they think that children should learn technology skills. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Advancements in technology have produced comfort in our lives. In order to make their children technology oriented and skilled more and more parents are allowing children to play on modern gadgets such as computers and tablets. The advantages of such attitude are equal to its disadvantages. The enhancement in technology has a huge impact on our daily life as it has become a necessary part. To cope up with modern society learning about the new technological innovation is mandatory. This is the reason parents allow their children to use updated gadgets. As an illustration, mobile phones are now equipped with various apps like Google maps. To find a way, people no more use those traditional maps. As a result orientation about modern innovations is crucial to do even daily tasks. Therefore, it is crucial for parents to allow their children to use computers or other devices to adjust in this contemporary era. Although the knowledge and skills regarding technologically advanced devices are necessary, their demerits are also undeniable. In order to learn technology skills, children are deterred to focus on their main goals. To illustrate, my niece allocated most of her time to learn about computers after permission of my sister. Because she had to spend plenty of time on learning about computers, she could not focus on her studies and eventually she lost interest in her studies leading to poor academic progress. Hence, the demerits of orienting children to technologically advanced devices are paid off in terms of a negative impact on studies and it should be considered as a high alert. To conclude, children are now permitted to play on computers and tablets as parents think that children should learn about technology and become skilled in such sector. The benefits of this development are equivocal to its demerits.