Prevention is better than cure. Research and treating diseases is too costly so it would be better to invest in preventative measures. To what extent do you agree?

Medicine is one of the most essentials in life. The healthcare industry has become overly expensive over the years, therefore some say it is always better to prevent an ailment rather than research and development of a treatment. I completely disagree with this argument, as I believe it is crucial that humans continue to study on cure's for various sicknesses. Modern technology can diagnose a deadly disease. In other words, some sicknesses are hard to prevent and the only method to rid of it would be with medication which was developed by expensive studies by health care experts. An ailment such as, cancer would be a prime example. Doctors and experts say that every living being has some form of a cancer within themselves, in fact we are all born with it. However, for most of us these are inactive cancers, however, they can be activated at any stage of life, mainly due to eating habits and individual lifestyles. They also claim, that an early diagnosis and treatment would give a chance of survival from the deadly condition. Therefore, it is apparent that early diagnosis is only possible with the modern technology thanks to research. Some critics, however, are in favour of taking preventive steps in order to live a healthy life. While, I believe that this is the best option I am certain that this ideology cannot be applied for many conditions. For instance, AIDS is a deadly virus that can be prevented by having safe sex however, humans are not perfect, therefore, a wrong decision or one mistake would have been fatal in the early days or have a very short amount of time. However, thanks to modern day medicine created by research and development, an AIDS patient can now live a long and happy life with a life expectance of up to 70 years. In conclusion, sicknesses such as, cancer can be treated only if diagnosed at an early stage. Modern day medicine has given a chance of living a normal life while carrying a deadly condition such as AIDS.