Some people think that it is a good idea to give children a small amount of money each week to spend on what they would like. Other people think that this is wrong and that it is a waste of money. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Few people believe that children should be given some money as a weekly allowance to spend as they wish, and others prefer not to do it, thinking that it is not fruitful. When we hand over money to children, we make them realize the importance of expenditure and savings at an early stage of life, which will be very helpful for them as they grow old. For instance, my neighbour follows this practice and give 5 dollars per week to her child. I remember, there was a time when she wanted an expensive toy, and had to save her pocket money for 1 year in order to get it. This way not only she learnt about savings, but she also understood, which items are worth spending on. However, providing money to children can sometimes be the cause of major problems, as the parents have no control over how the child will use it. For example, one of my friend’s son used the money he received to impress others in his school, and spent it on the items he can show-off, like the latest toy or buying expensive dessert. This increased peer pressure on the poor students of his class who started demanding money from their parents as well. This is not a favourable situation for the poor family as they barely have the money to raise their kids. In conclusion, my opinion is that money should not be handed to children to make expenses on their own. Rather, it is a better idea to keep their spendings under adult supervision, so that we can guide them about the positives and negatives of their spendings. I do not think it is a wise decision to give weekly allowance to kids.