Some people think that government should spend money on railways. Others believe that there should be more investment into new roads. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Throughout history, humans have used various modes of transportation to commute and for trading. However, while some believe that investment in railways and trains should be the priority of the government, I side with those who think that investment should be focused on new roads and tracks. On the one hand, it is argued that the state should allocate more finances for railways. According to them, the biggest advantage of railways is that it is comparatively more affordable than other modes of transportation as trains cater to a larger section of the public, who cannot afford to have their cars or bikes. According to an economic survey, a person using trains for his daily commute to his work spends one-fifth of the fuel cost incurred by a person using his car in the same distance. Moreover, trains are believed to have a lower risk of accidents than vehicles running on roads, for they have separate tracks for themselves. On the other hand, I agree with those who believe that investments on roads are more important than on railways. In my opinion, roads are used not just by public vehicles such as buses and taxis, but private vehicles alike. Unlike railways, better roads are also beneficial for those who do not prefer to use public transport as their daily commute. Furthermore, I feel that the greatest benefit of a good road network is its role in promoting trade and consequently, contribution to the development of the economy. Countries having well-developed road networks are usually seen to have a better economy. For instance, with proper roads, farmers would be able to transfer their goods from farms to the market in a shorter time. To conclude, although the railway is generally cheaper for the masses, roads help in boosting trade and the economic development of the country. Therefore, on balance, I firmly believe that the government should prioritize and spend more on the development of road networks.