Some people advocate death penalty for those who commit violent crimes. Others say that capital punishment is unacceptable in contemporary society. Describe advantages and disadvantages of death penalty and give your own opinion.

It is believed that heinous crimes are best prevented by taking violent steps, and giving capital punishments are one way of doing this. There are some benefits and drawbacks of such punishments which we will discuss here. On the one hand, those who support death sentences point to the need for the society to learn from others. Consequently, setting examples for other people might prohibit them from committing serious crimes. For instance, in countries such as Saudi Arabia, potential offenders involved in killings, sexual or drug abuse are left with the only option of death sentence, which reflects that local authorities have to deal with such issues less often, as people are afraid of committing such crimes. While in contrast, if such laws are not being practiced, then there would be much difficult for the law enforcement authorities to capture such criminals. On the other hand, death penalties might create a devastating effect among common people. This means that no chances of rehabilitation given to the offenders. This might lead to severe problems, as if one is convicted of such crimes or committed such crime, he/she might proceed further before being captured, because he/she would be aware of the fact that no mercy would be given without any chances of appeals. Countries where death penalty is still practiced, often followed by short trials leading to the death penalty, and one might not be able to defend in this short period. In addition to adults, there is a negative impact on children watching such public executions, and may disturb them mentally in their early developmental age. In conclusion, although the death penalty is being practiced for hundreds of years, it seems that this trend is necessary to protect innocent people from serious offenders because there seem to have no chances of changing their mindset.