Some people advocate death penalty for those who committed violent crimes. Others say that capital punishment is unacceptable in contemporary society. Describe advantages and disadvantages of death penalty and give your opinion.

Crimes are increasing in the modern era which has brought many problems in the society. Many believe that death sentence should be given to the culprit who attempt serious offence to control the violence while others ponder that it is not acceptable in the society. In this essay, I will be discussing the merits and demerits of whether to give capital punishment or not along with my opinion in the subsequent paragraphs. To begin with, crimes are rapidly committed by criminals in order to take revenge from the people because of small issues. There are some benefits to give capital punishment to the criminals as it will make living safer and secure. In some cases, it is the only way to deal with a wrongdoer as they are not guilty of their act which can force the judiciary to take some strict action against them although it can reduce the offences in the future. If one criminal gets death penalty for heinous crime such as rape, murder, and acid attack then it will serve the justice to the victim as well as lessons for those who are thinking to commit similar offences. On the contrary, there are drawbacks of the same as it can bring unwanted panic among people related to the constitution. If giving big trial can decrease the crimes in the country than if every country can implement these rules and regulations in order to reduce the offence but in minor cases it should not be the option. By punishing the culprits for 6 months or 1 year for small crime can be a lesson for others. In my opinion, the penalty should be given as per the level of crime as if all the crimes have same punishment, then people will not take laws seriously then they will attempt more crimes by thinking that they will get the same punishment by committing any offence. To conclude, death sentence for culprit should be necessary in heinous crimes as it will be a lesson for others. Punishment is required in order to make society better and peaceful.