In some cities, public parks and open spaces are changed into gardens where local residents can grow their own fruit and vegetables. Do you think the benefits outweigh the disadvantages?

It is argued that the replacement of green places in several cities with gardens served for vegetable and fruit growing purposes is a heated discussion. This writer believes that the disadvantages of adverse impact on the environment and lack of space for outdoor action eclipse the advantage of connecting people. To begin with, there are some drawbacks to eliminating areas for open spaces and public parks for planting herbs as it can influence adversely the environment and residents have no space for their outdoor activities. For the former, while growing agricultural products, it is compulsory for growers to ensure their quality by using pesticides and insecticides. This is because the leaves of plants are the most nutrient source of food, which can lead to the fact that those leaves are being eaten if people do not apply anti-pest chemicals into practice. Once there is no strict management from the officials, the residents can overuse them and do not know how to process them properly after using them. This can result in the discharge of those toxins into the atmosphere, causing the worse condition of air pollution. Moreover, planting products relating to agriculture, instead of trees in local parks resorts to the lack of land for other activities, such as outdoor ones. It is acknowledged that due to the explosion in population, citizens are now facing the obstacle of insufficient vacant land for houses, let alone space for vegetable and fruit plants. For that reason, the governments should distribute purposes for each region suitably by encouraging people to grow herbs in the rural areas, making inner-city areas for activities, namely exercises, and picnics, so there will be a dramatic improvement in dwellers’ well-being and welfare. However, there are a few benefits from growing fruits and vegetables in local areas, the most noticeable is the connection between individuals. It is valid that a certain soil is mutual, and every resident contributes their attempts to grow the herbs. When they are in the same place and doing similar actions mentioned as watering or spraying chemicals, there will be an increasing rate the citizens communicate with each other, raising the advent of plenty of conversations relating to the same interests. Therefore, more and more dwellers can be connected by discussing similar topics. For example, 50% of locals have new friends after doing a mutual activity. In conclusion, despite the benefit of linking relationships, it still eclipsed the downsides of negative effects on surroundings and no vacant estate for open-air actions.