Many people believe cities should not try to preserve its old, historic buildings and instead ,they should destroy them and replace them with modern buildings. To what extent do you agree?

In recent times the importance of old historic buildings and modern buildings cannot be ignored, Although many people agree to the conservation of old historic buildings in our cities today and I consider the statement and believe my ideas and points would be discussed in the essay and examples would be given On the one hand people think preservation of old historic buildings are vital to our development and accept the statement, for example a group of researchers carried out a survey in Rome about the cultural tale behind historic buildings and how they have impacted our modern day developments and education and why they cannot be completely erased. The study gave more relevance to the importance and constant relation of these historic structures to modern day life On the other hand people agree to erasing old building and replacing with modern structures. For instance Alhaji Elrufia who spent a major part of his governance demolishing old historic buildings and replacing with new and modern structures ended up losing the historic value of a city and replaced with modern structures and it gave a negative impact on tourism. Clearly we are in recent and mordern times and development is imminent but our old values cannot be overemphasised and therfore must be safe guarded to a large extent in conclusion, we have alot of people with diverse thought and reasoning in our world today but i believe old and historic building play a vital role in our existence by displaying our history and monuments of how it all began and will be carried on from generations to generations and history can never be forgotten