In some countries, children have short school day of 5 hours. In other countries, the school duration is often longer. Does it have more benefits than drawbacks?

Children in some countries often have a short school duration of 5 hours a day only, while in some other countries kids have to spend a longer duration than that. This essay will argue that having longer school hour than 5 hours have more merits than demerits. To begin with, the striking advantage of having long school hours is that children can be taught for extended hours. Teachers, while getting additional time, is likely to ensure children’s better uptake of lessons in the classroom. That could possibly help young learners achieving superior results than children who spend only 5 hours a day in school. For example, in the elementary examination of the class 5 students in Canada, most of the high achievers are from those schools that have a 7 hour school day. However, a possible disadvantage of having extended school hours is that children might have limited ties with their families. Spending more hours at school is likely to spare only a few hours for the kids at home. Children might find those few hours inadequate to develop a quality relationship with family members, thereby it may have an impact on family relationships. In fact, a local university journal last year claimed that family bond is likely to become stronger with children passing long hours with their parents in their offspring. In conclusion, although keeping long school hours, leaving fewer hours for the kids to spare with their family, it could also result in a reduced study hour at home. Since children can have their lessons studied at school, they could spend the remaining time entirely with their family members without having a worry of their study, therefore the advantages completely outweigh the disadvantages.