Food travels thousands of miles from farmers to consumers. Some people think that it would be better for our environment and economy if people consumed locally produced foods. To what extent do the advantages of this would outweigh the disadvantages?

People, nowadays, like to eat a vast variety of items. It is a fact that the edibles are provided to customers by agronomists from large distances. Owing to the environmental and economic benefits, some individuals believe that the consumers should be entirely dependent on locally grown products. In my opinion, despite the fact that this would leave the people with fewer choices, its advantages in terms of, escalating earning resources of farmers, and proliferating the economy of the country rule out the disadvantages. To begin with, one major drawback of not importing products would limit the eating items. The agricultural lands in any region on earth are unable to produce every type of products. For instance, fruits such as pineapple and apricot, considered the highly nutritious, cannot be grown in Australia, and imported from Russia. Therefore, if individuals only rely on regional food, they would be deprived from tasting other healthy and unique edibles. On the flip side, the consumption of items cultivated by agriculturalists has two clear advantages. Primarily, more demand of locally produced food would increase the selling of such items, which would raise the financial status of agronomists. Consequently, they can ameliorate their living standards. To illustrate, 65% of American residents completely rely on the agricultural sector to improve their lives by exporting their edibles to the whole nation. Furthermore, the country would progress economically by generating more revenues, when the farmers would pay more taxes. To conclude, it takes miles to provide daily eating items to the masses from villages. Although using only home produced food would decrease the variety of edibles, its positive impact on up surging the income of agriculturalists as well as stabilizing the financial condition of a country out outweigh the demerits.