Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Many people choose to migrate to other countries in search of better opportunities and living environments. Opting for a country where you have to use a totally new language may lead issues in social and practical scenarios, but these problems are not so difficult that they may not be solved. Firstly, migration is a common trend for people from different backgrounds and all of us face various issues due to a language barrier. This can vary from misunderstanding talking with locals to talking with your co-workers. For example, ordering a taxi or buying groceries at a local shop can be a huge task. Secondly, language speaks the soul of the culture and the country. Therefore, not being a native may leave you as an outcast in some situations. For example, you may not be able to get the joke that your colleagues are making and it can make you feel isolated. Moreover, you could lose many prestigious offers due to the language barrier. It can be a hindrance for you in your career and personal growth. However, these issues are short-term problems which can be solved with the touch of technology and friends. Nowadays, technology offers us numerous opportunities for excelling in any subject. By using different internet resources and applications, we can start learning the local language and feel more confident in our language skills. For example, by using Google translate we can break the ice with local shop owners. It can help us to build our first sentences and feel more native. Furthermore, we can do a thorough research about the country before we decide to move in. This can also help us to handle difficult situations and deal with culture shock better. Additionally, having local friends may be extremely beneficial to improve your spoken skills. In a nutshell, I strongly believe that language barriers can cause many hardships for us while residing in a different country. However, not being permanent, these problems can be tackled with the right help and attitude.