high stakes english language tests such as IELTS, are increasingly being delivered on the computer. Do the advantages of computer based testing outweigh the disadvantages?

Globally linguistic exams such as IELTS are taken by the people when they wish to move to another country. Nowadays, the use of computers for such evaluations are gaining popularity. This essay will discuss that the major benefits like easy editing and the word count are superior to the drawbacks like power cut or technical glitches. Computer based tests have a number of advantages like, editing a text in writing task are easier than paper based pattern. For example, we can easily cut, copy and paste sentences; re frame, add or remove words without any hassle. Additionally, the window at the bottom shows the word count of the words typed for the essay there by saving precious time and ensures that we have surpassed the word limit without a doubt. For instance, in a traditional pattern, students may not end up counting words, thereby loosing a band score as they have not exceeded the word count. Hence, computer delivered IELTS exams are better. Despite all the positives, they do come with their own sets of drawbacks like power cuts or computer viruses. Sometimes, unfortunately if the electricity fails in the middle of a test, then all the progress gets deleted wasting time. In addition, if the computer system has a virus, it may not transfer the data correctly, which can lead to faulty results or hanging off the screen. For instance, a student had to reappear for the complete test, in spite of finishing reading and listening module due to power failure. To conclude, the people are giving more preference to screen based language evaluations these days. This essay discussed the benefits like hassle free editing of text and display of number of words clearly outweigh negatives like electricity or technical failure.