In many countries, women are allowed to take maternity leave during the first month after the birth of the new born. Do you think the advantages of maternity leave outweigh the disadvantages

Nowadays, in many countries, it is common to allow a leave of absence from the job for a mother to take care of their baby. Is it the right thing to do?. The main advantages are great opportunities to take care of neonatal and rest of the mothers. However, the major drawbacks includes, financial constraint in cases of unpaid maternity leave and obstacle for career progression. I opine that the pros outweighs the cons. Undoubtedly, a leave of absence from work due to childbirth is beneficial and this should be considered by employees. The major advantages include. Firstly, it creates the avenue for mother's to nurture and take care of neonates. To explain, mother hardly has time to breast feed new born at work, so, maternity leave gives them the opportunity to do that. For instance, most banks do not allow mother's to come to work with their babies. This can lead to malnutrition of neonatal because while the mother is at work no one can breast the baby. Secondly, such leaves create time for mothers to rest. To illustrate, gestation period is stressful and demanding. Therefore, such leave is necessary and highly beneficiary. A recent studies by the US has shown that women that was given at least three months maternity leave returns back healthy and were more productive at work. Overall, leave of absence from work for mother's is highly important and should be encouraged. Conversely, if the mothers engage in long maternity leave, it is known to have bad effects. However, the major disadvantages of such long leaves include, financial constraints in the case of unpaid leave. To expatiate, unpaid salary for months will definitely deplete the resources left and could lead to several financial difficulties. For example, single mothers need money for daily up keeps and to feed and cloth their babies. This could be difficult when salaries are not paid for months. Furthermore, long leaves are obstacle for career progression, to exemplify, most firms requires workers to work for a certain number of years to get promoted and once this is done better remuneration follows. Therefore, long maternity leave delays promotion. By and large, long maternity has major drawbacks as mentioned above. In conclusion, a lot of nations have embraced maternity leave as a positive development because, it creates a time for mothers to take care of their babies and time for them to rest. Nevertheless, maternity leave has drawbacks such as financial constraints of long unpaid leave and obstacle for career progression. My two cents goes for that the merits of maternity leave outweigh the demerits.