Research indicates that the characteristics we are born with have much more influence on our personality and development than any other experiences we may have in our life. Which do you consider to be the major influence?

Everyone is born with some instincts which they carry throughout their life. Many studies have implied that these natural characteristics have an influence on one’s personal traits than any other experience they might have in their life. This essay will shed some light upon the things that influence one’s personality most. Although the natural instincts with which a human is born has a significant effect, it’s not all that makes up his character. It’s a combination of such natural features and other major experiences throughout life that really define a person. A child is most affected by the acts of its parents, it may not have been born with anger and frustration, but it might develop these characteristics by watching its parents fight all the time. To continue with this, this developed feature of short-temperedness may fade by noticing the kind acts of someone, perhaps its spouse, towards it. However, the inbuilt features of a person may be so strong that all the other major experiences might not matter. For instance, a human being who is naturally very lively and carefree may not be affected by the cruelty of the world. But in most cases it is the other way around, experiences like, death of a close friend, or losing a job, have an impact on personality. In conclusion, it can be said that, even though the inbuilt characteristics have a valuable impact on personal traits of someone, the effect of other major experiences outweigh them. Also, some of these experiences might enhance the natural instincts more.