Some people think that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters such as food, clothes and entertainment is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decision about matters that affect them. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, topics like children's right to decision making are increasingly controversial. While some schools of thought believe that permitting children to make their own choices would lead to an overly self concerned society. Others state that children are better off, if they are allowed to make decisions that concerns their welfare. In my opinion, the latter should be encouraged as it will establish a feeling of independence and increase the confidence level of the child. Antagonist to child's decision making base their argument on the nature of the minors. A popular scientist propounded that egoistic (selfish) element supersedes other elements in the subconscious of the child. For instance, children are known for their refusal to share their belongings with their peers. Therefore, if left to make critical judgment, they would grow to learn these selfish acts leading to a community with no regard for their fellow human. On the other hand, youngsters have a great tendency to learn fast. Such decision making skills will create a sense of independence and confidence in them. Both factors are essential in overcoming life challenges. For example, Robert Kiyasoki one of the richest businessmen at testify that his achievement can be attributed to his father who motivated him to make tough decisions as a child. He said during an interview that, when he was little, he was too dependent and had an inferior complex. He overcame them through the decision making skills he learnt during his childhood. Thus the need for children's involvement in this act. In summary, the ability to make great choices are essential in life. Therefore, children should be allowed to make judgement regarding their welfare as it ensures independence and high confidence level needed for their later life.