Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Some college students state that adding other subjects besides the main courses is required. On the other hand, others think they need to focus on learning the essential things according to their major. Herein, I would like to elaborate on the extent of both sides based on my point of view. To begin with, education is changing humans to be well-educated and intelligent so they can develop their potential more efficiently and be ready to face real life. The higher the educational level, the more complex the knowledge must be learned. As a pupil, they will be prosecuted for critical thinking and assessed objectively by seeing from different perspectives. In my opinion, that is why students are expected to study more subjects to provide their main courses. For instance, a college student with a business primary needs to learn systems that are related to business such as management, accounting, finance, and even human resources. Furthermore, in the future, when they become a businessman, they need to know the aspects of business processes that include those subjects mentioned before. In contrast, others had different perspectives. They prefer to focus on studying according to their degree to be more specific and utilize their time effectively. In this case, I agree with this statement because it is more crucial. It can be seen in reality that after graduating, numerous people found it hard to get a job since many companies nowadays prioritize people with specialization. In Indonesia, for example, I saw many job vacancies looking for candidates with specific skills such as digital marketing, web development, or data science, which are fields only done by experienced people. It means the experiences are only able by a man who knows how to operate specific tools. To conclude, even though there were many sciences that university students must study, and I believe it will give many benefits and great insights, focusing on specific objects is more essential in this era because, in the end, they will work depending on the company’s need, not depend on how many subjects had been learned.