Some people believe that the society should be based on rules and laws. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the contemporary world, some intellectual people envision their ideal society to be incorporated with certain rules and laws. While I stand with a neutral viewpoint on this argument considering the facts that it develops the ethical values in an individual, besides forbidding them from the outside world. One side of my thought process drives this essay on the positive note, as it develops the moral and ethical values in humans who lives in the lawful society. To substantiate this further, the society has diversified people living in it and certain rules and regulations have been carved out to keep them all intact. When an individual abides by the rules, they learn the ethical and moral values by progressing on the righteous path, as none of the rules would mislead a person. Thus, it is lucid that following a rule or a law motivates an individual to be a responsible citizen. Another side of my cerebral thinking compels me to consider the downsides as well, as people forbid themselves from the society. Having said that, a fearful individual who cannot keep up with the stressful rules and laws, goes into a state of depression, thereby, segregating themselves from the social interaction. Consequently, a person encloses himself with a least interactive world, fearing the rules and laws. To conclude, having considered the aforementioned reasons on both sides of my thought process, an individual who abides by the laws and rules will be blessed with a fruitful life as they tend to learn the moral and ethics, while there is also a harm of restricting the human interactive nature, as they fear to face the law.